Jake Gardner | Jake Gardner—Recordings
Recordings featuring American bass-baritone Jake Gardner.
Jake Gardner, recordings, an occurrence at owl creek bridge, antonio salieri, falstaff, wilhelm grosz, afrika songs


Thea Musgrave: An Occurrence At Owl Creek Bridge (1981)
An Occurence at Owl Creek Bridge Green (2007) and Wild Winter I (1993)

Catalog No: NMC D167  |  Release Date: 18 April 2011


  • Jake Gardner (Baritone)
  • Gayle Hunnicutt (Narrator)
  • London Sinfonietta
  • Thea Musgrave (Conductor),
  • Red Byrd
  • Fretwork
  • Scottish Ensemble

Rich, powerful musical language and a strong sense of drama have made Thea Musgrave one of the most respected and exciting of living composers. Born in Edinburgh in 1928, she studied at the University of Edinburgh and then in Paris, where she spent four years as a pupil of Nadia Boulanger, before establishing herself in London with her orchestral, choral, operatic and chamber works.  She has lived in the US since 1970.

Musgrave’s ‘opera for radio’ sets a dreamlike tale of the American Civil War based on An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge, a short story written in the late 19th century by Ambrose Bierce. 

“These three works, though all very different and written decades apart, nevertheless share a common subject: conflict. An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge (1981), a heart-breaking story from the American Civil War; Wild Winter I (1993), a setting of poems from many different countries and in several different languages about the inevitable losses and cruelties of war; and Green (2007), an abstract conflict of a life-giving force against its suffocating nemesis.”

—Thea Musgrave

Read William Hedley’s review here and buy it online at Amazon

Antonio Salieri: Falstaff (1995) Recording-Falstaff

Sung in Italian at the Schwetzinger Festspiele
DVD Release Date: 15 August 2000  |  Arthaus Musik 


  • Sir John Falstaff—John Del Carlo
  • Mrs. Alice Ford—Teresa Ringholz
  • Mr. Ford—Richard Croft
  • Mrs. Slender—Delores Ziegler
  • Mr. Slender—Jake Gardner
  • Bardolfo—Carlos Feller
  • Betty—Darla Brooks
  • Radio Symphony Orchestra Stuttgart
  • Arnold Ostmann (Conductor)
  • Michael Hampe (Stage Director)
  • Directed for TV and Video by Agnes Meth & Claus Viller

Buy it online at Amazon.

Wilhelm Grosz: Afrika SongsRecording-AfrikaSongs

CD Release Date: 12 August 1997
London/Polygram Records 


  • Andrew Shore (Baritone)
  • Cynthia Clarey (Maezzo-Soprano)
  • Jake Gardner (Baritone)
  • Kelly Hunter (Soprano)
  • Matrix Ensemble
  • Robert Ziegler (Conductor)

Buy it online at Amazon.